Greenlight Laser…meet Dr Charles Chabert!

An Innovation Technology Post – from the patient:

“Ok Tony, you don’t have cancer you have a benign prostate growth and the the operation for this is called a TURP it takes about 1 hour, – you’ll be in for 3 to 4 days and off work 3 – 4 weeks. I’ve done thousands of them over the years – you’ll be fine, the epidural ensures pain is minimal and as for side effects there’s only a slight risk to sexual disfunction however a % of men do suffer incontinence. Oh look you’re lucky I have a cancellation so can fit you in on the 14th Nov - first cab off the rank

So how does all that sound?….i sat there nodding with a pathetic smile on my face agreeing to something I really had no idea what he was talking about. Besides it all sounded too mechanical and easy – like some production schedule!

Surely there was something better than this?,  given my background - time for a second opinion, even better perhaps there’s some new technology advancement?… and, fortunately for me there was!

Meet Dr Charles Chabert

The minute we met I liked him. Warm, enthusiastic, genuine and sincere. We discussed my various options including  medicine because … Tony the last option is surgery.

But in the end it was my decision. At 57 I could only imagine what I’d be like at 67.

So it was decided – Tuesday 22nd March 8.00am at the John Flynn Hospital Gold Coast.

John Flynn Hospital

Where's the Razor Blades?

Recovery

It’s now Thursday 24th – 48 hours since my Greenlight Laser surgery was performed by my maverick urologist – who’s on a mission to improve mens health! But it didn’t quite go exactly to my plan and not that I’m a sook but the post operative pain was what I would describe as like “pissing razor blades’ but, nonetheless the hospital team were fantastic and able to manage it all so I came home after only i night in hospital, completely pain free, feeling pretty happy about myself!

NO; 3 or 4 night stay in Hospital. NO; 3 – 4 weeks recuperating. I’ll be back to normal in half that time!

Greenlight Laser has only been around a few years in Australia and we can thank my Qld urologist Dr Charles Chabert and his passionate team for pioneering this new technology and, blazing new trails for mens health -all because he dares to Think Different! – motivated to do things better and because its time to change the status quo!

Not surprisingly, Charles is also an Apple evangelist  - I really must chat to him about getting him a new iPad 2….

Cheers

ozechad

5 Responses to Greenlight Laser…meet Dr Charles Chabert!

  1. Jimbo says:

    Tony
    Look forward to catching up with you again after your leading edge surgery.
    As one as your other Apple convert who has had my eyes widened
    Jim

  2. mar thomson says:

    tony
    Good to see you are in good hands and always marketing
    best wishes for a speedy recovery April catch up sound great. I’m off to Sydney tomorrow where i’m chairing a Retrofitting for energy efficiency Conference.
    i trust you’ll have time to update me on whether I should buy an Ipad2 or Samsung tablet which I’m told is better!!!!!!!

  3. Deidre Marczynski says:

    You really walk the walk as far as trialing new innovative technologies. Good on you, Tony. Sounds like it was a MUCH better outcome for you as a patient too. All the best for a ‘green light’ in the personal recovery bit too, soon ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

